WTF: no Vibe at all

When i first read this story i almost choked on my frosties. Robin Thicke, recently spoke about an incident involving Vibe magazine.

"When I did a recent interview with Vibe magazine I asked, 'Why can't I get the cover? This is a magazine I love. If there's one magazine that I'd want to be on the cover of, it's Vibe.''

This, apparently, was Vibes response.

"Their response was they don't have white artists on the cover; that the only white artist they've had on the cover was Eminem. I guess if that's what it is, it is what it is. And I respect that because I live in a house with a black woman."

The situation as it is is bad enough. But what disgusted me even more were some of the responses i've been reading on various web sites. There are people out there who are actually siding with vibe. Black people saying things like '
How dare Robin Thick complain about his white ass not being on the cover of Vibe!' & 'fuck Robin Thicke and his hitler moustach look a like !! fuck this white piece of shit!'.

Just how ignorant & bigoted can some people be. For all those people that refuse to accept that racism goes both ways, perhaps this will help to sway your opinion. some commentors even had the temerity to use slavery as valid reasoning for their comments. As a black man i'm embarrassed that after everything that our race has been through (slavery included) that there are people who not only have such ridiculous views, but actually think that they are doing themselves any favours by expressing them. The only thing Robin may be guilty of is a little big headedness in asking for the cover on the 1st place.

Yes racism does go both ways & although one type obviously gets more airtime than the other, the problem won't go away until both ends of the candle are burned. Which leads me to think that racism will always exist in some shape or form


0 comments:

blogger templates 3 columns | Make Money Online